How to Remove the .DS_Store Files from Your Mac
If you frequently use Mac in a Multiplatform network then you eventually will encounter the nasty creation of .DS_Store files.
Don’t be curious, we will describe the whole thing for you so that you can recover from this issue. Basically, DS_Store is a hidden file for Mac OS X that stores several bits of data for the Finder to remember, such as the position of the icon, making it completely useless for anyone to see.
If your settings are in default, your Mac will create the .DS_Store files everywhere, including non-Mac computers, which will create an annoying mess so that network users can find it.
Fortunately, you can easily disable the creation of DS_Store files on network connections.
This is what a DS_Store file looks like when hidden files become visible in OS X:
Stop the creation of .DS_Store files on network shares
Start the terminal and type exactly the following command:
defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true
After doing this please restart your Mac and the .DS_Store files will no longer appear every time you browse a network share.
What will happen if I delete the .DS_Store files?
If you delete the .DS_Store files from Mac folders, you will lose all the details of the directory folder. For instance: icons, window placement, background images, etc.
What are thumbs.db?
Though Mac OS X is an operating system it creates several system files, so the DS Store is not alone. If you access your Mac from a Windows PC, you may find some Thumbs.DB files in your Mac’s folders.
Thumbs.db serves the same purpose in Windows as the DS_Store file for Mac OS X, making it useless for a Mac user.
If you want to remove the useless Thumbs.db files quickly with Spotlight, read the easy instructions provided by Apple on its website.