Apple announced that they have improved the privacy settings of iOS 13

by team December 05, 2019

Apple announced that they have improved the privacy settings of iOS 13

 

Apple announced that they have improved the privacy settings of iOS 13. But in reality, the iPhone 11 Pro still keeps the data of the users even though if the Location Service is disabled.

It is the Krebs on Security page that reveals all that. They found the iPhone 11 Pro still pinged its GPS module to collect location data and without hiding it.

When referring to Apple’s own privacy policy, the iPhone periodically sends locations at WiFi points or cell towers in an anonymous and encrypted form. Apple states it can be systematically disabled per application.

But Kerbs’s findings found the opposite. In the video they publish, it appears that despite disabling Location Services per application, turning off data reception, GPS still keeps mysteriously pinging the server when it returns online.

In a statement, Apple engineers revealed that they did not see a security risk. The arrow icon that appears when the Location Service is activated is natural.

The icon can also appear when Location Services is deactivated. Because there are system services that don’t have a switch button in Settings.

This then raises a question mark whether Apple is hiding something from its users because there are features that cannot be turned off. So far the Cupertino-based company has not commented on further the Krebs findings, as reported by GSM Arena on Thursday (5/12/2019).

Social Shares

Subscribe for FREE Marketing Pro Newsletter!

Subscribers get the best curated content for you

Related Articles